Cool Lime Copycat

It’s confession time, I feel compelled to share this with you! The last few weeks, I’ve been suffering from a serious addiction, it’s all I can think about. I’m late picking up the kids from school, not getting groceries, missing workouts…simply because I have to get my fix. So. Very. Humiliating.

‘Hello, my name is Deidre and I am a …Cool Lime Refreshaholic’

Nanaimo isn’t a huge city, and granted, I usually go to the same Starbucks, but when the staff start to recognize my voice over the intercom on “hello”…it’s time to face facts.

I am fully aware that it is tough to know exactly what they put in those things and that much of it is all chemically-kind-of-badness, plus the fact that they are five bucks a pop for a whole lotta ice and little bit of my happy juice…I had to find a solution. If you haven’t tried a Cool Lime Refresher…they are cool, taste like lime, hee hee, not too sweet and have caffeine in them… yeah, that’s right. Ca-ah-feeen! Whoo hoo!

Sooo last night I had a dream about making my own recipe for this delicious concoction. After a quick online search, I didn’t find anything that was quite what I wanted, grrrrr….that was when obsessive/compulsive me took over. Quick visit to the health food store for the ingredients, a stop at Starbucks…hey, I needed the original to compare, and home to do a little experimentation! Okay my family was laughing at me as I did the computations and conversions because quite frankly math & I do not get along…but I was on a mission! After a few hours, a messy kitchen and a few false starts…I think we have a winner. Thank-you, thank-you very much…

Cool Lime Copycat

yield: 8 cups

flavoured water (make 2 -24 hours ahead)

  • ¼ cup mint leaves, chopped finely
  • ¾-1 cup peeled and chopped cucumber
  • 2 cups water

Place above ingredients in a lidded mason jar in the fridge

coffee bean syrup

  • 3 tsp green coffee bean powder (available at health food stores)
  • 3/4 cups sugar (or use your favourite sweetener)
  • 1 cup boiling water

Stir above until powder and sugar are dissolved

  • 2 cups fresh lime juice

Strain cucumber and mint from water in mason jar,pour cucumber water into juice pitcher, stir in syrup and lime juice. Add four more cups of water, serve over ice.

This will be a staple in my fridge all summer long…let me know how it works for you. I’m thinking I may add a little lemon grass…oh and some ginger, of course!

Deep summer is when laziness finds respectability.  ~Sam Keen

Tags: , , , ,

Categories: Recipes

Author:justapinch13

Mom of six, social media translator at www.getamped.ca, travel junkie, wanna-be-chef and lover of all things clever and beautiful ...

Want more?

Connect with Just A Pinch of Ginger here...

45 Comments on “Cool Lime Copycat”

  1. Shari
    May 4, 2013 at 6:46 pm #

    That sounds lovely but does it taste like coffee?? I am not a coffee drinker

    • May 6, 2013 at 10:21 am #

      Not at all Shari, it’s just a refreshing lime juice. The green coffee extract smells a little weird when you dissolve in boiling water, but it doesn’t have an offensive taste 🙂

  2. Sigrid Mayer
    May 6, 2013 at 9:30 pm #

    I will definitely try this!!! Sounds delicious! Thanks! / Sigrid from Sweden

    • May 7, 2013 at 8:22 am #

      Great! let me know how it goes & if you made any modifications!

  3. Penny
    May 10, 2013 at 8:26 am #

    Do you know they sell the packets in the grocery store to make this – easy breezie!
    I love these too!

    • May 14, 2013 at 10:52 pm #

      Yes! I’ve seen them…way too easy, I was going for the bit more work, but hopefully healthier option 🙂 Thanks for stopping by!!!

  4. June 2, 2013 at 10:18 pm #

    * don’t forget to get light ice .. Always… At Starbucks , no need to pay for ice!

    • June 5, 2013 at 8:40 am #

      SO true…always light ice 😉 although I’ve been making my own so often , I haven’t been to Starbucks in ages!

      • Emily
        October 17, 2015 at 5:50 pm #

        I always ask for EXTREMELY light ice and ONE lime in mine. 😂

  5. Brooklyn
    June 7, 2013 at 6:58 pm #

    The drop ins from Starbucks do not compare!

  6. Sueg
    June 10, 2013 at 9:20 pm #

    Can you use a sugar substitute ? Will it taste the same. I am would love to try something knew.

    • June 10, 2013 at 9:24 pm #

      You can do whatever your preference is…I personally steer away from sugar substitutes, so I can’t comment on what it would taste like…sorry! Good luck with your experiment! 🙂 Let me know how it works out!

  7. Penny
    June 17, 2013 at 9:54 pm #

    I still haven’t found the green coffee bean powder after going to several health food stores.
    Any tips of places to shop? I did try adding some aloe vera juice to the instant packets
    and that worked great. Aloe vera juice is so good for you – you might want to add some
    in place of part of the water in your recipe. I still hope to try your recipe if I ever get the green coffee bean powder.

    • June 19, 2013 at 9:38 am #

      hmmm…I was having a tough time too, I’m using capsules now & just pulling them apart 🙂

  8. Penny
    June 23, 2013 at 4:00 pm #

    I found it in bulk on ebay $8.95 for 4 ounces organic and also on the internet Google: tree of life health foods.
    Can’t wait for it to arrive so I can finally try your recipe.
    You are motivating me because it sounds yummy!

  9. July 12, 2013 at 2:19 pm #

    THANK YOU! I too am an addict and must stop dropping 5 bucks a day! Confession – sometimes 10 bucks a day!! I will be printing this right now!

    • September 5, 2013 at 7:57 pm #

      Hope it worked for you! Mine taste a little different every time, but I know it’s sooo much healthier than the Starbucks version 🙂 Confession…I drink it in a Starbucks cup lol

  10. July 21, 2013 at 10:04 am #

    I cannot wait to try this- and congrats- this has been pinned almost FIVE HUNDRED times on Pinterest! That is amazing!

    -Anna-Marie

    • September 5, 2013 at 7:56 pm #

      Thanks Anna-Marie…sorry I didn’t reply sooner…this comment got lost in a shuffle somehow 🙂

  11. August 21, 2013 at 4:53 pm #

    Reblogged this on Just a Pinch of Ginger and commented:

    Just wanted to say that this was very refreshing on this beautifully HOT summer day!

  12. August 22, 2013 at 10:40 pm #

    Hello!!!
    I m too a cool lime addict, in fact I m enjoying one just now 🙂

    I want to ask if the coffee beans are a must for this recipe.

    About a week ago I asked someone at my local Starbuck about the ingredients of cool lime but she didn’t mentioned anything about coffee.

    I m not a coffee lover thats why I m concerned about it.

    Thanks for your recipe 🙂

    Cheers from Glyfada city @Athens, Greece.

    • August 22, 2013 at 11:06 pm #

      Hey there, no …I don’t think you HAVE to have the green coffee bean powder for the drink to taste great…although, with six kids…I LOVE the caffeine! Good luck 🙂

      • August 22, 2013 at 11:54 pm #

        Ok thanks a lot 🙂

        ps: you can delete my comment below

      • August 22, 2013 at 11:56 pm #

        no worries!!! 🙂

  13. August 22, 2013 at 11:03 pm #

    Hello!!!

    Thanks so much for your recipe.
    I’m too a Cool Lime addict, in fact I’m enjoying one right now.

    I want to ask you if the coffee beans are necessary for making a Cool Lime since I’m not very fond of coffee.

    Some days ago I’ve asked an employee at my local Starbucks about the ingredients of a Cool Lime but she didn’t mentioned anything about coffee.

    Greetings from Glifada city @Athens, Greece.

  14. benjamin
    September 13, 2013 at 7:53 am #

    which green coffee beans do you use?

    • September 13, 2013 at 10:41 am #

      I use a powder from ‘System’, found it at our Costco 🙂

  15. family_5
    November 19, 2013 at 7:05 pm #

    I use sobe green tea, add fresh squeezed lime juice, and lime slices, and viola! Magic… lol

  16. March 10, 2014 at 10:41 am #

    Trenta cool lime refresher no water, no ice, no lime. This is what I get from Starbucks, it is 30 oz of just the juice. You can drink it that way or make a bunch of them yourself at home.

  17. Marie
    May 8, 2014 at 8:43 pm #

    Thank you so much for doing all the work to make a copy cat recipe! I’m addicted to the Starbucks one and I can’t keep dropping $5 a day. Now I’m on a hunt for the green coffee bean powder because one of the things I love is the afternoon pick up this provides.

    • May 9, 2014 at 8:04 am #

      if you can find powder, capsules are readily available at health food stores 🙂

  18. CPB
    October 31, 2014 at 6:29 am #

    Hey, I was just curious about why you chose to infuse water instead of juicing and straining the produce? The recipe looks great by the way.

    • November 2, 2014 at 9:56 am #

      Hmmm…good question, it was a while ago, but I think it was because I wanted to stay as close as possible to the Starbucks recipe. More watery~ less juicy 🙂

  19. ihi.yeah
    April 3, 2015 at 6:55 pm #

    do you not add white grape juice?

    • June 8, 2015 at 3:11 pm #

      No, I have not done that, sounds good though…could take out some of the sugar that way

  20. Cat
    June 27, 2015 at 6:43 pm #

    Can the syrup be made in bulk and then store? I would like to make this fresh and often!

    • July 21, 2015 at 9:00 am #

      That’s a great question! honestly, I haven’t tried…but it would be a worthwhile experiment. let me know 🙂

      • SOOZ
        December 5, 2015 at 10:35 am #

        I too am an addict. 😲 The last few years I would wait till fall when the packets are half price, and buy as many as possible. This has been a very bad, terrible, not good year. I only found a few and none online…So… I split 1 serving between 3 bottles of water. Then I supreme 3 limes and maybe a lemon 🍋 and add the juicy little bits and muddle some mint leaves from the garden. Spearmint. I never thought of adding cucumber, but I will try it today. Thank you for the idea. I am very ill from botched radiation therapy and must “consume mass quantities of fluids“ or feel a 🔥 burning in the middle of my chest. Plain distilled water is hard to get down, so any ideas on how to make my favorite drink as inexpensively as possible are welcome. You are one smart cookie. Now I want a cookie, too. 😕. Merry Christmas 🎄 😇. Blessings, Sooz

      • December 8, 2015 at 7:38 am #

        Hope you’re treatments get corrected soon and you are back to health! Have a wonderful holiday!

  21. Michelle
    March 10, 2016 at 2:56 pm #

    I’m also a cool lime addict and I was so excited to find this recipe! I’ve done all of the steps and mine came out very murky…. What could I have done wrong? I haven’t tried it yet because I need to go get more line juice but any ideas… 😣

  22. Kim
    April 27, 2016 at 3:17 pm #

    These are soooo much better than Starbucks. I was getting tired of the inconsistency and half the time getting a cup of ice water with a little lime flavoring. This version has a nice tart flavor and no calories (I used Truvia). Now I can have my refreshers all summer long and save a ton of money!!! Love, love, love it!! Thank you for figuring this out!!!!

  23. Maria Hernandez
    May 22, 2016 at 7:09 pm #

    This is so funny and i experienced the same shame but for the strawberry acai refresher. Also bought the green coffee powder to try to make my own. Gonna use organic frozen strawberries and honey. I did also lose belly fat to the point that i felt uncomfortable because i am used to carrying the fat. 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Monthly Updates #6: March Food | Walking Through The Pages - August 31, 2016

    […] and that means that I can start saving up for the Starbucks Refreshers again! I actually found a copycat recipe – which works! – on Just a Pinch of Ginger, so I’ve been making this a ton – also, fun discovery: apparently I really like the […]

Please share your thoughts...

gospeltrume

steps to the light

that perfect hand...

In Ocean's 11, Danny said that "the house always wins. If you play long enough, never change the stakes, then the house takes you. Unless, when that perfect hand comes along, you bet big... and then, you take the house." Here's the hand I've been dealt, sometimes it's risky and sometimes it's safe, but all the time... it's perfect. It's mine.

