Drunken Tom ‘Yummy’ Mussels

Ooops I did it again, I went to the beach and had no idea what I was making for dinner! Martha S, I am not!  Absolutely no real food in our house…oh well! It’s summer, it’s 30 degrees outside, I require a substantial amount of vitamin D to function! I am in complete denial that summer is coming to an end, haven’t bought school supplies, my kids are out until dark every night and I am still wearing a bathing suit. Every. Single . Day.

Sheesh…yes, I wear stuff over to go to the grocery store! Well, most of the time anyway.

We spent a fabulous, sandy evening watching the sun nearly touch the waves at a local lake. My “bigs” are busy with friends and away visiting, so we just had the three “littles” and they entertained themselves for hours in the sand and at the playground. Seriously…the beach is parenting at its best. Grumpy kids? Just add water! Suddenly it was seven and other than a banana & a granola bar, our children hadn’t eaten a thing.

Luckily our local grocery store is on the path home. We traipsed through the aisles not having a clue what we wanted. Actually…Lachlan really wanted to have  a chocolate pizza, but knowing his ‘base’ energy level…I vetoed that.

Stopping by the seafood aisle proved to be verrrryyyy helpful. Local, Salt Spring Island mussels were on sale….oooohhh baby! Twist my rubber arm, have I mentioned just how much I love living on Vancouver Island? I knew exactly what sauce I wanted to steam them in…it’s all my favourite flavours rolled into one. You’ll want a chunk of crusty sourdough…or just a big spoon to soak up the extra juices!

Thai Steamed Mussels

Ingredients:

  • 5 lbs of fresh mussels, we loved the Salt Spring ones…juicy!!!
  • 1 cup of fresh squeezed lime juice
  • 1 quartered lime
  • 1 can coconut milk
  • 1 cup white wine ( I used a lovely BC Sauvignon Blanc, White Bear…to honour the BC mussels!)
  • 2 tbsp Tom Yum paste ( I love the Por Kwan brand) a taste of Thailand!
  • 6-8 cloves of crushed garlic
  • 2 tbsp butter
  • 1 tbsp fish sauce

Method:

  1. Okay…I admit it this part is kinda gross! You have to remove the beards of the mussels, yes beards! So you grab the little hairy bits sticking out and pull sharply down. They fight back though..so good luck.
  2. Scrub, scrub, scrub. Use a bristley kitchen brush and clean off the mussel shells, put aside
  3. In a large saucepan melt the butter, then add the lime juice, coconut milk and fish sauce over medium heat
  4. Crush the garlic cloves into the sauce
  5. Stir in the Tom Yum paste and turn up to high until the sauce starts to boil
  6. Lower heat to medium, add wine and mussels
  7. Cover the pot, allow mussels to open, about 10 minutes, stir gently…discard any that do not open!
  8. Remove from heat, squeeze extra limes into the mix and toss in
  9. Serve in a big bowl with crusty bread and an empty bowl for shells…thank me later


The sea does not reward those who are too anxious, too greedy or too impatient.

One should lie empty, open, choiceness as a beach,waiting for a gift from the sea.

~ Anne Morrow Lindburgh

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Recipes

Author:justapinch13

Mom of six, social media translator at www.getamped.ca, travel junkie, wanna-be-chef and lover of all things clever and beautiful ...

Want more?

Connect with Just A Pinch of Ginger here...

No comments yet.

Please share your thoughts...

gospeltrume

steps to the light

that perfect hand...

In Ocean's 11, Danny said that "the house always wins. If you play long enough, never change the stakes, then the house takes you. Unless, when that perfect hand comes along, you bet big... and then, you take the house." Here's the hand I've been dealt, sometimes it's risky and sometimes it's safe, but all the time... it's perfect. It's mine.

