Let’s get ready to CRUMBLE!

I’m the first one to admit I don’t like baking. It’s too uptight for me. I’ll do it because I love my family and I like to know what actually goes into their food…but inside…I’m screaming! TOO MANY RULES! Honestly, I don’t even like writing out recipes..because in my head I’m arguing with myself. ‘I think I put in a bit more than that…wait-did I add something else at the end?’ I apologize, I’m guilty of random acts of flavouring!

Enter the crumble, or crisp, or…whatever it’s called now. I can never remember the difference. Does it really matter what we call this glorious combination? I think not! It’s throwing together whatever in-season, delightful fruit you have on hand and topping it with some grains and butter and baking it up until it gets all bubbly inside and crispy, crumbly on top! Easy peasy and perfect for dessert or breakfast. Best thing about it? This rustic, humble treat doesn’t make you work too hard or think too hard. Sign me up!

After a successful visit to the local farmer’s market, we found ourselves with a plethora of fresh picked strawberries and rhubarb. Many of the berries found their way into some small mouths around here, but I knew we’d have enough to make some dessert.

This is what I threw together, it is by no means the only recipe, but it’s what I had on hand…and it came out really well. Extra crispy on top and a sweet/tart center with a little zing!

The kids ate up their portion after a late night at grade twelve awards with some vanilla ice cream. Darrell and I had ours for breakfast the next morning, mine topped with Greek yogurt and a twist of fresh nutmeg.

image

Strawberry Rhubarb Crumbly Crisp:

Ingredients

  • 2 cups each fresh rhubarb and strawberries (rinsed, medium dice)
  • ½ cup brown sugar, packed
  • 2 tbsp cornstarch
  • 1 tbsp honey
  • 1 tbsp balsamic vinegar (don’t leave it out…sooo yummy!)
  • 3 cups organic rolled oats
  • 2 cups brown sugar
  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1½ cups butter, salted, chilled
  • 1 tsp fresh ground nutmeg
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • ice cream or yogurt or whipped cream to top!

Method

  1. Place all the chopped fruit in a large bowl, coat with a tbsp of brown sugar, place in fridge
  2. Preheat your oven to 350°
  3. Grease a large ceramic baking dish
  4.  Mix together the oats, flour, 2 cups of brown sugar, nutmeg and cinnamon
  5. Cut in the chilled butter ( I like to cut in in smaller pieces to make it easier) using a pastry or two forks until its gets nice and crumbly, set aside.
  6. Pull your lovely, juicy fruit out of the fridge, stir in the rest of the ½ cup sugar, corn starch, honey, balsamic and if you like, a pinch of cinnamon and nutmeg too. Pour the whole mix into your baking dish.
  7. Top the fruit evenly with the oat crumble and place in the center rack of the oven.
  8. Bake for 45 minutes to an hour, it’s ready when the top is crispy and the fruit is generously bubbling through the top.
  9. Remove and allow to cool and set for ten minutes, spoon this goodness into bowls, top with whatever you like and bask in the glow of love that will be showered upon you!

I want to have a good body, but not as much as I want dessert. ~Jason Love

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Featured, Recipes

Author:justapinch13

Mom of six, social media translator at www.getamped.ca, travel junkie, wanna-be-chef and lover of all things clever and beautiful ...

Want more?

Connect with Just A Pinch of Ginger here...

No comments yet.

Please share your thoughts...

gospeltrume

steps to the light

that perfect hand...

In Ocean's 11, Danny said that "the house always wins. If you play long enough, never change the stakes, then the house takes you. Unless, when that perfect hand comes along, you bet big... and then, you take the house." Here's the hand I've been dealt, sometimes it's risky and sometimes it's safe, but all the time... it's perfect. It's mine.