Three-step Seafood Ceviche

In our house, I often refer to my guy as ‘Chef’. Although I am using it as a term of endearment, he dislikes this title intensely.  Mostly because he feels it hasn’t been earned. As a culinary school grad, he has massive respect for his professors and the cooks in the industry who have earned the title. I get it…but he’s MY chef, if you know what I mean.

It’s always hot in the kitchen here…noooo…not like that. More like heated DEBATE! I have been doing the lion’s share of cooking for the last twenty plus years and I am not used to having to share my space.Simply cooking for my family in my own weird little way, sans formal training…I like to eat great food and then I like to figure out how I can make said great food.  That’s about it. The “I’m NOT a Chef’s” background is similar to a point. He’s always had a passion for food, preparing banquet-sized meals for family gatherings, then diving into the catering business with his brother in law. Casual pig roasts with all the fixins’ for a hundred or so people at a time. Finally, he decided to quit his government job and follow his passion, and off to Culinary School he went! It was quite a challenge, but his eyes were opened to amazing ingredients, seasoned professionals and classical French technique.

Our cooking styles occasionally clash. He winces when I am cutting vegetables, basically, he can’t believe I still have all of my fingers. The battles over our risotto are almost legendary at this point…in that last few minutes I am always pushing for “more broth, make it creamier” and he’s countering with “no, it’s done perfectly al dente, I hate the mushiness”. He’ll be adding his favourite spice to yet another dish, with me cringing in the background.  I’ll be tossing in ingredients to a dish willy nilly and he’s baffled with my random timing.

However, there is one thing we both agree on. Fresh, local ingredients, prepared honestly, always equals a taste win. That is certainly the case with this ceviche that he whipped up for us the other night. It was before the kids were back home, so we didn’t have to have a big, family dinner, it was smokin’ hot outside and inside, unfortunately. We were craving quick, simple and chilled. He didn’t follow a recipe, we just went and picked out some of the islands finest seafood and produce and he chop,chop,chopped it into existence.

If you haven’t had ceviche before, it is truly worth a try. Usually served as an appetizer with tortilla chips, like salsa. Basically you are “cooking” the seafood in the citrus juice. You can mix lime, lemon and orange if you like, for this one, we just stuck with the straight-up lime. Cactus Club serves a popular salmon ceviche…but I personally feel this one kicks a** on theirs. Hey, just my opinion…but I love the crunch of the vegetables mixed in with the tender seafood.

Just like in OUR kitchen (I’m learning to share), one of us might be a little too crunchy & the other a bit too juicy…but when we mix it all together…it creates tasty success ♥

Summer Seafood Ceviche: serves 6-8 for appetizers

Ingredients:

  • 100g fresh or frozen scallops, medium dice
  • 200g  fresh or frozen shrimp, medium dice
  • 2 shallots, medium dice
  • 1 avocado, firm but ripe, medium dice
  • 1 small jalapeno pepper, fine dice
  • 2 tomatoes, medium dice
  • 1 red pepper, medium dice
  • ½ English cucumber, skin on, medium dice
  • juice of 4 limes
  • ¼ cup fresh parsley, finely chopped *some people prefer cilantro (like me, but not him)
  • a pinch each of salt & pepper
  • tortilla chips, to serve with

Method:

  1. Clean and prepare all ingredients as directed & gently stir together in a glass or ceramic bowl (no metal)
  2. Cover dish with plastic wrap and place in the fridge for 2-3 hours
  3. Using a slotted spoon, serve a portion of ceviche in a smaller bowl, with tortilla chips to scoop. Enjoy!

*Leftovers will keep safely in the fridge for 2-3 days.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Featured, Recipes

Author:justapinch13

Mom of six, social media translator at www.getamped.ca, travel junkie, wanna-be-chef and lover of all things clever and beautiful ...

Want more?

Connect with Just A Pinch of Ginger here...

No comments yet.

Please share your thoughts...

gospeltrume

steps to the light

that perfect hand...

In Ocean's 11, Danny said that "the house always wins. If you play long enough, never change the stakes, then the house takes you. Unless, when that perfect hand comes along, you bet big... and then, you take the house." Here's the hand I've been dealt, sometimes it's risky and sometimes it's safe, but all the time... it's perfect. It's mine.

